• Short publishedBethwasanda health worker attack: Nurse killed in Bafwasende
  • Broadcast publishedBethwasanda health worker attack: Nurse killed in Bafwasende
  • DevelopingNew Hampshire wedding photography company has no bankruptcy filing, court says — 2 sources
  • Broadcast publishedBrockton spring street fire injures 11; five rescued by ladder
  • Sourcing3 transcripts collected, 0 new arrivals
  • DevelopingDOJ asks 57 California counties to help identify suspected noncitizen voters — 23 sources
  • DevelopingAnthropic says Claude bypassed paywall to access public Georgia voter statistics — 4 sources
  • DevelopingGerman police investigate Mein Schiff 3 captain after Bremerhaven collision — 3 sources
  • Sourcing9 transcripts collected, 3 new arrivals
  • New storyDOJ demands Washington set aside ballots tied to 400-plus alleged noncitizens

Health · Mislabeled supplement

Sold as cat’s claw, found to contain an opioid: San Francisco warns after death

San Francisco’s first known fatal overdose involving MGM-15 exposes a dangerous gap between an herbal label and an undisclosed opioid. The dose and reach of the affected supply remain unknown.

Aired Written 4 min read32 sourcesHeyDay News Desk · About usWatch report

Follow via RSS

Transcript · LOADING

Story trackerDay 6

1 report21 outlets32 sources

Warnings about opioids hidden in products sold as cat’s claw have reached San Francisco’s fatal-overdose record. After reports of deaths involving misrepresented herbal products in Utah and Washington, San Francisco health officials issued an October 21 warning about the city’s first known fatal overdose involving MGM-15, a semi-synthetic, kratom-derived opioid not approved for any medical use. 2 3 4

The local case concerns a 37-year-old man who died in late September after consuming tablets branded “Script botanicals x Maui labs.” The product was marketed as cat’s claw, but testing detected MGM-15 in the man and in the associated product or package. The opioid was not disclosed on the label. 2

That mismatch is the central danger: someone buying what is represented as a botanical supplement can encounter an opioid capable of causing a fatal overdose, without the package telling them it is there. The warning is directed to health-care providers as well as consumers because the label can also obscure an exposure when someone becomes ill. 4

San Francisco’s “first known” designation is narrow. It describes a fatal overdose involving MGM-15 within the city—not the first death nationwide, a count of all local exposures, or proof that earlier cases could not have gone undetected. The city’s alert explicitly notes overdoses involving the compound elsewhere. 3

The Los Angeles Times reported that Utah officials linked MGM-15 and a related compound to four deaths in that state. The Washington Poison Center separately reported four confirmed deaths involving misrepresented herbal products containing those compounds. Those warnings also concerned products sold as cat’s claw; they do not establish that every case involved the brand identified in San Francisco. 2

What the medical findings establish

San Francisco’s medical examiner ruled the man’s death accidental and attributed it to the “toxic effects of kratom alkaloids,” according to a coroner’s report obtained by the Los Angeles Times. That finding is broader than a determination that MGM-15 alone caused his death. 2

The detection in both the man and the associated product is important: it establishes exposure to an opioid that the packaging did not disclose. But the publicly available case details do not include a complete quantitative toxicology file. They do not identify every substance tested for, its concentration, or everything excluded. It would therefore be wrong to declare either that no other drugs or alcohol were present or that other substances must have contributed.

The published descriptions also leave a smaller but relevant laboratory question unresolved. CBS Bay Area described MGM-15 as detected in the product packaging; the Times described detection in a package of tablets. Neither account supplies enough detail to distinguish testing of intact tablets, package contents or packaging residue. The supported conclusion is detection in the associated product or package—not a measured opioid dose. 1 2

Cat’s claw itself does not contain MGM-15. It is a woody vine found in the Amazon and other tropical areas of Central and South America. Kratom is a different plant. MGM-15 is produced by chemically modifying 7-hydroxymitragynine, or 7-OH, a compound that occurs naturally in trace amounts in kratom. Calling the product cat’s claw did not explain what testing found inside it. 2

The label cannot supply the dose

The tested package was described as containing four chewable tablets labeled “uncaria tomentosa extract,” the botanical name used for cat’s claw, with a labeled amount of 100 milligrams per tablet. The packaging did not list kratom or 7-OH, and it did not disclose MGM-15. 1 2

Those numbers need to stay attached to what they actually describe. Four is the number of tablets in the package, not the number investigators have established the man swallowed. And 100 milligrams is the labeled amount of extract—not a laboratory finding of 100 milligrams of MGM-15. The available findings establish neither the amount of MGM-15 per tablet nor the man’s ingested dose. A printed quantity can look reassuringly precise while answering the wrong question.

Products of this kind are marketed through gas stations and smoke shops, but the warning does not identify the particular store where the man obtained his tablets. Nor does it establish that every retailer carrying the brand had the same affected stock. The Times said it sought comment from Script botanicals and did not receive an immediate response. 1 2

The confirmed official action is a health warning. A recall notice, affected-lot list and defined distribution boundary have not been verified. That is not proof that no recall exists, and the finding cannot responsibly be extended to every package of the brand or every supplement sold as cat’s claw.

Known

  • San Francisco has identified one known fatal overdose involving MGM-15 and warned the public and health-care providers. 34

Unknown

  • The measured opioid content, the affected batches and how much affected product remains available are not established.

Next

  • Further product testing and any verified recall or lot information would help define the reach of the warning.

The immediate response does not depend on resolving those supply questions. Health officials advise calling 911 and administering naloxone to someone who appears to be overdosing. An herbal description on the package is no reason to rule out an opioid emergency. 1

As aired 16 lines
  1. Tablets sold as cat's claw contained an undisclosed opioid involved in a fatal overdose.
  2. San Francisco has identified its first known fatal overdose involving MGM-15, a chemically modified, kratom-derived opioid. It's not approved for any medical use. How far the affected supply reaches is still unclear.
  3. A 37-year-old man died in San Francisco in late September after consuming the tablets. The city's first-known designation applies to a fatal overdose involving MGM-15 within San Francisco. The compound had already appeared in overdoses elsewhere.
  4. Utah officials linked MGM-15 and a related compound to four deaths in that state. The Washington Poison Center also reported four confirmed deaths involving misrepresented herbal products containing those compounds. Those warnings involved products sold as cat's claw, extending the concern beyond this one city.
  5. The identified brand was Script botanicals x Maui labs. Its chewable tablets were marketed as cat's claw, using the botanical name uncaria tomentosa extract. Testing found MGM-15 in the associated product, even though the package didn't disclose that ingredient.
  6. The packaging also left out kratom and 7-hydroxymitragynine, often shortened to seven-OH. Products of this kind are marketed through gas stations and smoke shops. The warning doesn't identify the particular store where this man obtained his tablets.
  7. Cat's claw itself doesn't contain MGM-15. It's a woody vine found in the Amazon and other tropical areas of Central and South America. The danger here comes from an undisclosed opioid in a product sold under that plant's name.
  8. MGM-15 is made by chemically modifying a kratom-related compound. Seven-OH occurs naturally in trace amounts in kratom, a different plant. Chemical modification produces MGM-15. Someone relying on the herbal description could encounter an opioid capable of causing a fatal overdose.
  9. The medical examiner detected MGM-15 in the man and in the associated product or package. The examiner ruled the death accidental and attributed it to the toxic effects of kratom alkaloids. That finding covers a broader group of compounds.
  10. The package contained four tablets. That describes what was in the package; investigators haven't said how many the man swallowed. Another number on the label needs care, because a printed amount can sound like a measured drug dose.
  11. Each tablet carried a labeled amount of 100 milligrams of uncaria tomentosa extract. Testing hasn't supplied a measured amount of MGM-15 per tablet. So the label can't tell a consumer how much of that opioid they're taking.
  12. The health department directed its warning to health-care providers as well as the public. An herbal label can hide an opioid exposure from the person using the product and from someone trying to understand why they're ill.
  13. The man died in late September. San Francisco issued the public-health warning on Wednesday, October 21. The alert brought the laboratory finding to consumers and health-care providers weeks after the death, identifying a drug the product's label hadn't disclosed.
  14. This was San Francisco's second public warning about a synthetic opioid that year. In April, the city warned about cychlorphine after a 16-year-old boy's overdose death. The current warning concerns MGM-15 and the identified supplement.
  15. The affected supply still has no defined boundary. How much remains available, and which batches are affected, are unknown. The health warning identifies this product, but it doesn't give consumers a reliable way to determine the opioid dose in a package.
  16. For someone who appears to be overdosing, health officials advise calling 911 and administering naloxone, a medicine used to reverse opioid overdoses. That advice applies even when the product the person took was sold as an herbal supplement.

Sources

32 sources21 outlets

Source map

Follow the evidence behind this report. The map shows its connections; the links below open the sources cited in this article.

Source map loads as you read.

Explore the full newsroom map ↗

Revision log

  1. r1First published.